True Stories of Answered Prayer

Image

By Mike Nappa

4.5 of 5 stars

208 pages, Hardcover

Tyndale House Publishers, 1999

I read True Stories of Answered Prayer in one afternoon. Every chapter, only 2-3 pages long, is a true story of how God answered prayer in someone’s life.

Children, men and women did the praying. Some are famous. Many are unknown. Their prayer stories span childhood and adulthood.

They prayed about money, about health, about relationships. They prayed for wisdom and direction, for safety and protection. They prayed about details and huge events. They prayed urgently for their needs to be met and gently for things they only wanted.

In every single case, God answered their prayers, in His own way, in His own time, always saying yes.

I needed this book’s reminder that I should keep praying because God does answer prayer.

It’s a smooth-to-go-down lesson that He is listening, He does care, and He does respond.

If you have moments when you doubt that anyone is listening to your prayers, pick up True Stories of Answered Prayer and set aside a couple of hours to read it. I think that, like me, you’ll be glad you did.

The book is simply written, so it’s an appropriate read for teens and even older children, as well as adults.

I read it in hardcover, but it’s also available in e-format. You can borrow it from Calgary Public Library or your local public library, or purchase it from Amazon.

~ by Laureen Guenther on September 5, 2012.

10 Responses to “True Stories of Answered Prayer”

  1. So my question about this book then, after reading your review, is this: Does the author ever write about when God answers no? Does he ever suggest that no is possible, just not recorded in this book? Would one come away with the feeling that God will always answer my prayers yes?

    • Good question, Carla Anne! I hadn’t looked at it quite that way, but you’re exactly right. The stories in the book are all about times when God answered YES, but some of those people lived tough lives in other ways. I wouldn’t say the book gives the impression He never says NO, but that balancing message isn’t stated directly. When I read it, I was in a space where I was all-too-keenly aware that God doesn’t always say YES, so I welcomed the reminder that He often DOES say yes… more than I’m sometimes inclined to think. Now that you’ve asked this, though, I need to go back and look at the book again… thanks for the thought-provoking question!

      • I guess I’m in a place where I’m not sure if He’s saying ‘no’ or ‘just wait’ or if I’m just not getting an answer. And because there seems to be such a prolific amount of positive stories out there, and much teaching about how to live right or whatever in order to get the ‘yes’, that I’m just not sure where all the stories of ‘no’ are. If my theology says that God sometimes says yes, sometimes says no, sometimes says wait, then wouldn’t it make sense for there to be stories of all three?

        I guess, although I’m looking for yes, and I’d really love to hear more ‘yes’ stories, I’m wondering if hearing only yes stories will tempt me to be ungrateful or dissatisfied with no’s or just wait’s. Do you know what I mean?

        • Carla Anne, you’ve asked another good question! Maybe you or I need to compile a book of “I’m Glad God Said No” stories! Shall we start working on that?

          I’ve struggled recently with the fact God says some very firm NOs. I understand that He has some purposes for that, which I won’t fully grasp til I get to Heaven. In my heart, however, it just hurts a lot — that He would, for instance, say an apparent NO to the prayers for healing my friend’s teenaged son, who has leukemia and has been under treatments for three and a half years. Yet, God said yes, a couple months ago, to a shocking and speedy recovery, something that could be called nothing but a miracle. But He’s not saying yes, it seems, to the boy’s overall healing. At least, not yet!

          I think I’ve been very blessed in my life, but that’s not because I’ve been a good girl. It just is, by His mercy to me. I didn’t earn that comfort!

          Yet there are many people around the world who suffer deeply, most of them for no reason that they deserve. I think of people who are trafficked, or starving, or victimized by guerrilla warfare, or are martyrs for their faith. I have a hard time, sometimes, accepting that they must suffer so much on this earth… while I believe that God loves them just as fiercely as He loves me.

          Have you read James Dobson’s When God Doesn’t Make Sense? I read it years ago, and perhaps I need to re-read it. He refers to the “betrayal barrier”, when we come up against concepts and experiences when we face situations just such as these, and we feel betrayed by God.

          Thanks for asking good questions about this, Carla Anne. You’ve got me thinking further. My prayers are with you!

  2. I like the idea of “yes” and what it means. With free will and all, however, I’m not surprised when they’re are a few “no’s,” too. I’ll definitely check this one out…I need such a reminder (a lot lately) that God is real, and He listens. Jane

  3. (Just ordered it 🙂 )

  4. I’ve recently been thinking that our hardships may sometimes be the result of another’s answered prayer…

    Not a prayer for our downfall, but one from a person who needs a light in their own darkness, a set of footprints to follow through the blizzard of their own Ultima Thule.

    In Auschwitz, Maximillian Kolbe took the place of a Polish soldier who was set to be executed. No sane man would want martyrdom, but Father Kolbe accepted his death as the temporal miracle of another.

    God has plans for our good, and not for our destruction – but His definitions are eternal.

    • That’s a thought-provoking point! I don’t think I’ve considered it from that angle before.

      Yes, God’s plans are for our good… but His purposes and definitions have a much longer-range perspective than ours.

      Thanks for your comment.

Leave a Reply

 
