Karen Witemeyer

                             

I’m excited to tell you about a new-to-me author: Karen Witemeyer.

I’ve read her four historical novels in the past couple of months, and I hope she’ll write more soon.

Karen Witemeyer writes about interesting, likeable characters whom I quickly begin to care about, and her word-crafting is very good. Often those factors are enough to make a very good book.

Two additional factors set Karen Witemeyer above the crowd.

  • Karen does such a good job of integrating historical information that I feel pleased with myself for learning little-known historical information… without ever feeling I’m getting a history lesson. For instance, the characters of Head in the Clouds play parlor games that were played by families in the era of the story. In The Tailor-Made Bride, the female lead character uses exercise equipment and follows an exercise regimen developed by a doctor who lived in that time period.
  • Karen’s plots are richer than the typical plot pattern of most romance writers. She includes lots of action and conflict up front and in the middle, just where I usually expect it. Then, when I think the characters are home-free, and all that’s to be done is clean up the mess, she presents the biggest problem of all – and I always know I should have seen it coming. Then she still brings us to a highly- satisfactory conclusion. Her stories keep me avidly reading til the very last page.

If you like romances, or historical fiction, or both, you’re sure to like Karen Witemeyer’s books.

Here they are, sequences from my least to most favorite.

The Short-Straw Bride (4 of 5 stars)

To Win Her Heart (4.75 of 5 stars)

Head in the Clouds (5 of 5 stars)

The Tailor-Made Bride (5+ of 5 stars)

If you find them and enjoy them (or not), I hope you’ll write and tell us what you think.

Published by Bethany House, the books are available in paperback or Kindle versions.

To obtain them: http://www.karenwitemeyer.com/books.html or borrow from www.calgarypubliclibrarycom or your public or church library.

To learn more about Karen Witemeyer: http://www.karenwitemeyer.com/index.html

  • Reenie
~ by Laureen Guenther on August 18, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
